24 Frank Lloyd Wright Drive, Suite D2000
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48105
Family Law cases can be complicated because of all the emotion involved. Divorces, custody and parenting time cases involve those closest to us and they always require an adjustment to how we live our daily lives. The three main areas involve divorce with children, divorce without children, and parenting time or custody matters.
If you want to be granted a divorce in Michigan, you must fulfill the residency requirements. At least one spouse must reside in the state of Michigan for a minimum of 180 days and be a resident of the county in which they’re filing 10 days prior to filing for divorce. If both spouses file for divorce in Michigan, the first to file will take priority while the subsequent filing will be dismissed. Michigan is also a “no-fault” divorce state, which means that there doesn’t need to be any reason for the divorce other than “a breakdown of the marriage relationship to the extent that the objects of matrimony have been destroyed and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage be preserved.”
There’s a minimum waiting period of 60 days before the Court will grant a divorce. During the divorce process you’ll settle issues regarding spousal support (formerly known as alimony), property division (i.e., the marital home) and division of marital debt (i.e., credit cards, loans, etc.). Many factors will be considered by the Court, including length of marriage, current living situation, income of both parties, standard of living during the marriage, each party’s contribution to the marital estate and more.
It's always nice to have someone in your corner to help guide you through this emotional time. If you would like to learn more about divorce in Ann Arbor, or the surrounding areas, contact us today! Schedule an initial consultation. (734) 665-4441
Website Hosting by Network Services Group, LLC
SEO by Michigan SEO Group